top of page
  • Writer's pictureDerek E. Keeling

The Inspiration Behind Nomad's Island


I have been a writer as far back as I can remember. In fact, there's evidence of such a claim (see photo). However, I haven't always been an author. My journey to being an author began years ago as a young teen.


It was 2001, I was a freshman in high school, getting ready for summer break and the transition into becoming a sophomore. I learned that for some reason I did not pass my English C.I.M. test (Certificate of Initial Mastery). It was needed to move into the next grade, so suffice it to say, I was worried.



I had the option of either retaking the test at the end of the next year, meaning I'd be repeating my freshman year, or taking an English class in the summer. The dreaded: Summer School. I opted for a summer school class.


During that class I learned how to craft a story and in the process created a short story called, “Matchbox Zombies”. The teacher thought it was such great writing that she had me stand up in front of the entire class and read it, of which I was the only one to do so. The class was enthralled by my story. That single seed of writing is what has bloomed my passion for it to this day. For note, I did end up passing and receiving my Certificate of Initial Mastery.


Fast forward to 2006. My friend and I decided to take a trip to Kauai, Hawaii for a year. We planned to live off the land, hunt wild boar, and get back to nature. We were young, full of dreams, and had not the slightest clue what we were doing. Hawaii is populated. Let's get that out of the way. The population in Kauai did not appreciate to long-haired, pale hippies with loaded backpacks walking through their town. It was obvious we were not there to do the normal tourist thing. Suffice it to say, we lasted a week before returning home to Portland, Oregon.


That dream of living off the land and getting back to nature has never really left me, but rather morphed into something else. That something else is now called Nomad's Island.


Although vicariously, I lived my Hawaii adventure through writing Nomad's Island. Thankfully, while I was in Hawaii all those years ago, I didn't have to worry about eyes stalking me in the jungle. The main character in Nomad's Island, Damon, does have to worry about that.


Nomad's Island will be released on Saturday, March 2, 2019. Find it at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other select bookstores. You can find it on Amazon at: http://amazon.com/author/derekkeeling

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ARTCME

bottom of page